Prettttty big life update

Well, figured I’ve shouted this news from the rooftops of Instagram and Facebook, so might as well round out the social media wheel by posting the news here….DB and I are engaged!!! Forgive me for my absence these past few months, but I’m trying to make it up to you (my blog readers…aka my mother), by really making a splash with my return post.

We got engaged on Saturday, September 28th and it was perfect. I’m a pretty sneaky person and can be very difficult to surprise (even though I LOVE surprises, please see here and here), but somehow he pulled it off with the help of the nearest and dearest people in our lives. When I was little and I pictured the day that someone would ask me to marry them, the man doing the asking and the way in which he asked so far exceeded the picture of perfect that I had in my head back then that I can’t even find the words to describe it. It really was the best day ever.

Looking back, there are signs that I could have seen and things that probably should have tipped me off, but I really expected the whole engagement thing to come later on in the year. I don’t know why I had this expectation in my head, but I guess DB had done a great job of managing the situation and throwing me off course. It is funny because I think back on so many conversations I had with friends in the weeks leading up to the day of our engagement and they all KNEW the answer to their question “when do you think he’ll propose”…but I didn’t and none of them gave so much as an inkling that they knew what was up. I think about my poor mother having to keep up the charade for 8 WEEKS, telling me to be patient and “these things take time”, even though she and my Dad were very involved in helping DB plan the entire perfect day. So many people were behind it, so many people kept the secret, and I can’t express the gratitude and appreciation I feel for all of the people that went out of their way to make such an exciting time in our lives so special. Those of you who couldn’t make it for the surprise still showered us with so much love (and also kept the BIG secret), and I want you to know that you were missed but definitely a big part of such an amazing day.

The day started out normal enough….we woke up, took Henry for a walk and got some coffee. It was a perfect Fall day in Atlanta and I kept making comments on what Β “perfect” day it was….little did I know just how much better it would get. I had made plans to meet up with some girlfriends just to catch up…they suggested we go for a walk or maybe we could get a mani/pedi (first clue). Nothing was planned in advance and it all seemed so spontaneous, so I wasn’t tipped off in the least bit. Next, and this is the clue that probably should have really gotten my spidey senses going, but about a week earlier the salon that I have been going to for years called and said they had some new hair/makeup products that they wanted to try out and would I mind being their test dummy? Free makeover…sure! I can make that work. I’m kind of amazed that I was still completely clueless, but I was. Our plans for the rest of the afternoon included watching the UGA/LSU game with our neighbors/good friends, so I joked that with my new makeover I’d bee the fanciest gal at the game watch party. When DB and I had discussed our weekend plans, we agreed that we would watch the game and then make it a “quiet” night with some takeout from one of our favorite restaurants in the neighborhood. We left the game watching party at some point in the 4th quarter, got our dinner and settled in for a nice quiet evening at home. After LSU lost the game, I kept asking DB (being a lifelong Tiger fan) if LSU’s loss was going to ruin his night? He said it wasn’t and suggested we take some beers outside to enjoy the perfect weather.

I know this has been REALLY long-winded, so thanks for bearing with me, but this is when the story get s really good. We were sitting on our outdoor patio enjoying our Coors lights when DB said he had a belated birthday present for me (my birthday had been almost exactly a month earlier) that hadn’t been ready in time for my birthday. He went into the house to get it and emerged with shoe-box sized package wrapped in white paper. Inside the box were a pair of sandals with my new monogram on them. I stared at them confused for a second, thinking to myself…”well that doesn’t look like the right monogram”….before I realized what was actually going on. To my right he was on one knee……and from there I started hyperventilating a bit and asking “is this really happening”. Thankfully it was and I said YES….and then I started trying to call a million people. We called our parents, family and our closest friends….most of them picked up, some didn’t…but I was so excited I wanted to share the news with everyone. DB told me that my parents were up the street having dinner with some friends and that they wanted to meet me for drinks to celebrate. He gave me a special engagement dress so that I would have something new and fun to wear for such a special occasion and tried to make me get ready while I continued to call friends. Finally he got me in the car and we started towards the country club my parents were having dinner with (meanwhile, I was still trying to call people). We walked into the club to meet my parents, who were there with about 40 or so of our closest friends/family. SURPRISE! I felt like my knees were going to give out on me….I was COMPLETELY shocked. The rest of the night was a complete blur of happiness, hugs, toasts, re-telling the story, left hand gestures, and SO much joy and love I felt like my heart my burst out of my chest. It has almost been a month since it all happened and I still get goosebumps thinking about everything.

Thanks for bearing with me as I recounted the entire day in painstaking detail, but I do want to make sure I jot down the details because I never want to forget them. Hopefully I can find some time between wedding planning and the real job that I actually have to keep you updated on all of the fun in the months ahead!

Here are just a few of the pictures from the amazing night!

Surprise

SURPRISE!

Surprise 2

Shock

Proposal 042

You guys are sneaky!

Lyndsey and Susan

Hugs
Proposal 103

Toasts

Dan post surprise

A surprise for DB too, his parents flew in for the celebration!

Kiki, Mike, Jenny, Ian and Hunter

Amazing Friends

Atlanta GFs

More amazing friendsProposal 126

Proposal 129

And yet another group shot of some…you guessed it…amazing friends!

Proposal 101

My FIANCE..ha

Fin.

5 thoughts on “Prettttty big life update

  1. So honored I got to be part of the surprise and your special day! Cannot wait for the next 9 or so odd months of basically pre-gaming for the event of 2014: LAM and DJB TIE THE KNOT!

Leave a Reply

